“It only adds, I don’t understand how it subtracts.”

Today I spent the morning looking up English translations of old Hindi songs that my dad used to play when we were growing up. I was a bit worried about this. Maybe in knowing what the lyrics meant, it might ruin some of the magic of these songs.

But it only added to my enjoyment.  I gained another dimension through translation, rather than having anything taken away.

It reminded me of this lovely interview with science man-of-genius Richard Feynman.

Leave a Reply

