Inspiring a new generation.

Our Sudan

A while ago I tweeted about a friend’s project on Kickstarter, called ‘Our Sudan’. They were asking for our support in making a documentary to change the perception about their country of Sudan.

Do an image search of Sudan and see what you get. Maps, a lot of them. And other than that? Black and white photos of children dying, starving.

Screen Shot 2013-03-17 at 23.42.01

Certainly not the Sudan I encountered through meeting the larger than life character Anwar on my travels last year. I feel so proud of the whole team for their achievement in getting their project backed. £11,000 in less than a month is no mean feat.

Have a watch of the video here:

Screen Shot 2013-03-18 at 00.18.34

For me it’s bigger than just a good news story. It’s bigger, even, than the success of a friend.

I remember sitting with Anwar in Edinburgh back in June, at a cross roads in my life, watching the ‘Our Sudan’ TEDx talk. The TEDx talk by Tarig Hilal upon which the documentary will be based.

And I felt a powerful connection – with my friend, with this story of a lost identity, and with my home city of Birmingham.

My home. This place that suffers from poverty, unemployment, bad leadership. A past of grandeur but a future that very few young people believe in.

Watching the trailer to the Our Sudan film is a real boost of hope. Seeing the success it received on Kickstarter is a real signal that this hope is not naïve.

It doesn’t have to be like this; a different tomorrow is possible.

I wish the team every success as they embark on the next stage of this exciting journey, and who knows, perhaps when it’s done, I might be able to hold a screening here, in my home city of Birmingham.

Leave a Reply

